Blogtour: Suddenly Single by Carol Wyer

When bestselling romance author Chloe Piper’s marriage implodes a week before Christmas, she flees her cheating ex and the village gossips for the solitude of the newly built Sunny Meadow Farm and the company of her hapless dog, Ronnie.
But Chloe is soon pushed out of her comfort zone. Because with a lively development building crew – headed up by charming Alex – and a larger-than-life neighbour determined to make Chloe’s love life her pet project, Chloe finds herself in a whole new world of chaos…
This enthralling romantic comedy of self-discovery and new beginnings is perfect for fans of Kirsty Greenwood, Colleen Coleman and Marian Keyes.

I was pleasantly surprised by the mental health issues that were explored in this. I always love it when I expect one thing from a novel and get an added bonus of education and understanding which I didn’t have before. I thought this would be more of a romantic comedy (the title and description implies this certainly) but there was a little more depth to this than I first realised.

There were some moments in this book where I did have to hide laughter in the public. I loved all of the characters and found that I could imagine being friends with them in real life. I thought if I ever become a divorcee in the future and felt lonely, it would be great to have other people around me like the people in the Singles Club in this book.

This was just a lovely lighthearted book which allowed me to escape reality a little bit (yes, it’s realistic, but it was almost a rose-tinted glasses kind of reality). I would highly recommend this to anyone who is going through a tough time who needs a little cheering up, or someone who has spent lots of time reading darker materials looking for something to leave them with a nicer warmer feeling.

About the author

As a child Carol Wyer was always moving, and relied on humour to fit in at new schools. A funny short story won her popularity, planting the seed of becoming a writer. Her career spans dry cleaning, running a language teaching company, and boxercise coaching. Now writing full-time, Carol has several books published and journalism in many magazines. Carol won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015), and can sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.

Advertisements

1 thought on “Blogtour: Suddenly Single by Carol Wyer”

  1. Hugest thanks for your epic review.. I am so glad you enjoyed Suddenly Single and thank you for being part of the tour. Although it is a comedy, I always try to highlight something that means a lot to me and in this book, Chloe’s social anxiety disorder was something I felt strongly about – being somewhat a sufferer myself. I am so glad you you highlighted this in your review. XOXO

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s